Ashbrook Center Presents CPAC Ashbrook Award to House Speaker John Boehner

2/10/11 ASHLAND, OH -- The Ashbrook Center at Ashland University will present its annual CPAC Ashbrook Award to the Honorable John Boehner, speaker of the United States House of Representatives, this evening at the Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in Washington D.C. Marvin Krinsky, chairman of the Ashbrook board, released the following statement:

"Only in America can you go from mopping the floors of a tavern in Carthage, Ohio, to becoming Speaker of the House. We're fortunate to have a principled Reagan conservative like John leading the House, and we're honored to have the opportunity to present him with the Ashbrook Award this evening," Krinsky said. "John Boehner handled both the stunning victory in November and the tragedy in Tucson in a very statesman-like manner. Mr. Ashbrook would be proud to have a fellow Ohioan like John Boehner leading today's fight for a smaller, more accountable, and less costly government."

President Ronald Reagan was the first recipient of the CPAC Ashbrook Award in 1986. The award is given annually in memory of former Congressman John M. Ashbrook, who was one of the founders of the American Conservative Union. The American Conservative Union organizes the annual CPAC conference.

The Ashbrook Center at Ashland University (<>) offers educational programs and events for students, teachers, and citizens about liberty and enduring principles of the American Constitution. Dedicated in 1983 by President Ronald Reagan, the Ashbrook Center is an independent center at Ashland University, governed by its own board and responsible for raising all of the funds necessary for its many programs.