Ashland University College Republicans to Hold Speaker Series

Ashland University College Republicans to Hold Speaker Series

3/15/17 ASHLAND, Ohio – Ashland University’s College Republicans will sponsor a speaker series this semester that will feature AU Associate Professor of Political Science Dr. Rene Paddags, Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof and Ashland mayoral candidate Sandra Tunnell.

“Our focus this semester is to inform citizens of the importance of state and local governments at a time in which we have been focused on the presidency,” said Joey Barretta, public relations officer for the College Republications student organization.

-- Dr. Rene Paddags will discuss the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) at an event on Wednesday, March 22, at 9:30 p.m. in the Ashbrook Center located in the Ashland University Library.
Paddags joined Ashland University in 2010 and he teaches courses in international relations, comparative politics and regional studies. Prior to joining Ashland University, he taught courses in political science and philosophy at the University of Maryland and at Loyola University. Dr. Paddags received his Ph.D. in political science from the University of Maryland, College Park, for his dissertation on Jean-Jacques Rousseau. He also received an M.A. from Johns Hopkins University, School of Advanced International Relations in international relations, and an M.A. in political science from the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany. 

-- Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof will speak on “Responding to Ohio's Drug Epidemic” on Thursday, March 30, at 6:30 p.m. in Student Center Auditorium located in the Hawkins-Conard Student Center. As the presiding officer of the 33-member Senate, Obhof is responsible for leading the Senate's Majority Caucus as it sets the policy agenda for the two-year legislative cycle. He also is responsible for the formal organization of the chamber, including recognizing members in debate, preserving order and decorum, calling for votes and signing all acts. Obhof represents the people of the 22nd Senate District, which includes Medina, Ashland and Richland counties, as well as portions of Holmes County. He is focused on improving Ohio’s economy, and has been a staunch advocate of fiscal responsibility, smaller and more efficient government, and lower taxes. As a member of the Senate, Obhof has sponsored legislation covering a wide range of issues including education, civil and criminal law, election administration, and taxation.

-- Sandra Tunnell will discuss her experiences leading Ashland Main Street and the importance of small business in the local community on Thursday, April 6, at 7 p.m. in the Student Center Auditorium in the Hawkins-Conard Student Center. Tunnell has been the executive director of Ashland Main Street since it began in 2011. During her tenure, the organization has won an unprecedented two Ashland Area Chamber of Commerce Culture and Recreation Business of the Year awards, the downtown has been listed on the National Register of Historical Places, the city has been awarded an Ohio CDBG downtown revitalization grant for $300,000, and occupancy of downtown buildings has gone from 75 percent to 92 percent. Tunnell is in her second term as the fourth ward councilman for the city of Ashland and is running for mayor of Ashland in the upcoming election.

Ashland University, ranked in the top tier of colleges and universities in U.S. News and World Report’s National Universities category for 2017, is a mid-sized, private university conveniently located a short distance from Akron, Cleveland and Columbus, Ohio. Ashland University ( deeply values the individual student and offers a unique educational experience that combines the challenge of strong, applied academic programs with a faculty and staff who build nurturing relationships with their students.                                                                                ###


Upcoming Events


Women's Lacrosse


Women & Men's Basketball at Home

PR Office Contact

Steve Hannan
Director of Public Relations
office: 419 289 5007
mobile: 419 651 1326