Ashland University Faculty and Staff Members Honored

2/1/11 ASHLAND, OH -- Eight Ashland University faculty and staff members were honored during the University's 25th annual Academic Mentor Awards recognition ceremony held Jan. 28.

The program recognizes faculty whose academic leadership with regard to students extends beyond the classroom. The mentors, each nominated by an Ashland student, were presented an engraved silver plate at the event held in John C. Myers Convocation Center.

This year's Mentor Award recipients are: Catherine Geletka, director of residence life; Dr. Andrew Greene, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Michael Hudson, associate professor of geology; Dr. Dan Lehman, trustees' distinguished professor of English; Dr. Gary Margot, professor of accounting/MIS; Dr. Jacqueline Owens, professional instructor of nursing; Tammy Repp, student accounts representative; and Dr. Michael Reuschling, professor of counseling at Ashland Theological Seminary.

Friends, colleagues and family members attended the luncheon, joined by members of Ashland's administration and Board of Trustees. Provost Dr. Frank Pettigrew welcomed the guests and presided over the event, while President Dr. Frederick Finks commended the award recipients and the students who nominated them.

Dr. Jeffrey Russell, dean of the Dauch College of Business and Economics; Dr. Dawn Weber, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences; Faye Grund, dean of the Schar College of Nursing; James Kirtland, vice president of business operations; Sue Heimann, vice president for student affairs; and  Dr. Dale Stoffer, seminary academic dean, presented the awards.

Students nominated faculty and staff members using the criteria of: history of their relationship, how they benefited academically, how their personal development has been enhanced by their mentor and what impact the mentor has had on the student's progress at the University. Selections were made by the Academic Affairs Committee of the AU Board of Trustees from the information included in the nomination letters.

Students who submitted winning nominations included: James Hoppel, a senior from North Olmstead, Ohio, majoring in political science, and Mary Robison, a senior from Willowick, Ohio, majoring in exercise science, both nominating Geletka; Wendy Dria, a senior from Sullivan, Ohio, majoring in biology, nominating Greene; Jennifer Miller, a senior from West Union, Ohio, majoring in integrative science, nominating Hudson; Brittany Potter, a senior from Painesville, Ohio, majoring in English and general psychology, nominating Lehman; Hannah Snyder, a senior from Mansfield, Ohio, majoring in business management, nominating Margot; Cindy DiFrancesco , a senior from Berea, Ohio, majoring in nursing, nominating Owens; Meg Plummer, a senior from Galion, Ohio, majoring in integrated social sciences, nominating Repp; and  Matt Fullen, a seminary student from Ashland, Ohio, majoring in clinical counseling, nominating Reuschling.

In nominating the recipients of this year's Mentor Awards, the students wrote one-page essays about their mentors. Passages from these essays were distributed at the luncheon.

Ashland University (<>) is a mid-sized, private university conveniently located a short distance from Akron, Cleveland and Columbus, Ohio. Ashland University values the individual student and offers a unique educational experience that combines the challenge of strong, applied academic programs with a faculty and staff who build nurturing relationships with their students.