Representative Dave Hall Presented with Friend of Independent Higher Education Award

Representative Dave Hall Presented with Friend of Independent Higher Education Award
State Rep. Dave Hall (middle) accepts his award from AICUO President C. Todd Jones (left) and Ashland University Chancellor Fred Finks.

10/1/14 ASHLAND, Ohio - The Association of Independent Colleges and Universities of Ohio (AICUO) presented State Rep. Dave Hall (R-Millersburg) with the Friend of Independent Higher Education Award at a ceremony on the campus of Ashland University Sept. 30.

The award honors champions of the Ohio private college sector. “This award recognizes those who have supported our sector by going above and beyond to meet the needs of our students and member institutions,” explains AICUO President C. Todd Jones.

Rep. Hall was recognized for his work on the College Credit Plus Program, ensuring that Ohio independent colleges remained a viable option for high school students in the revised program.

Ashland University Chancellor Fred Finks presented Rep. Hall with award, stating, “When I called Dave to ask for his support of College Credit Plus, he immediately responded that he would get up to speed on it right away. After looking into it and asking a few questions, he took the ball and ran with it. I believe it was because of his arduous support that his fellow Representatives responded positively.”

Rep. Hall gratefully accepted the award, explaining, “This title is a great honor. The district I represent is the home of Ashland University, an outstanding independent institution and a leading member of AICUO. It has been my pleasure to work with the administration and student leaders over the years, and I am thrilled to see that the policies being crafted in Columbus continue to give them the tools they require to teach, learn, and grow in our community.”

AICUO is the public relations, research and government liaison organization for 50 independent, nonprofit institutions of higher education in Ohio. Members include four-year undergraduate, graduate and professional schools accredited by the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools and authorized by the Ohio Board of Regents.